Registration is now open for the 2023 McHenry County Amateur.

This year’s event will be contested at Prairie Isle GC on Friday, July 21st & Saturday, July 22nd.

Tee times will begin at approximately 10:00 a.m. each day. Players will be paired according to handicap for the 1st round. Players will then be placed in flights according to 1st round scores.  The number of flights will be determined based upon the number of entries received for the event. Prizes in the form of gift certificates from the pro shop at Prairie Isle GC will be awarded to the top finishers in each flight. The Champion and runner-up in each flight will each receive trophies as well. Tee gifts will be distributed prior to the first round to all competitors. Entry fee is $150.  Any male amateur golfer that is at least 18 years old as of July 21st, 2023 is eligible to participate.

Visit the Tournament Registration page to sign up for the event. Cart fees are not included in the entry fee. Cart fees are $20 each day. Players may ride, carry their own bag, or bring a caddie.   Complete information about the tournament can be accessed on the Event Info page.

Past Champions

1984 Ken Kuhn, Plum Tree GC

1985 Don Hojnacki, Plum Tree GC

1986 Rick Smith, Plum Tree GC

1987 Darren Stanek, Pinecrest GC

1988 Darren Stanek, Plum Tree GC

1989 Al Pondel, Plum Tree GC

1990 Ron Ruszkiewicz, Crystal Woods GC

1991 Al Pondel, Pinecrest GC

1992 Carter Franz, Plum Tree GC

1993 Dave Brantley, Golf Club of Illinois

1994 Al Pondel, Crystal Woods GC

1995 Mike Haase, Prairie Isle GC

1996 Carter Franz, Plum Tree GC and Prairie Isle GC

1997 Buckey Weiss, Red Tail GC and Chalet Hills GC

1998 Tim Jacobs, Prairie Isle GC and Crystal Woods GC

1999 Tom Sweetwood, Plum Tree GC and Crystal Woods GC

2000 Tom Sweetwood, Marengo Ridge GC and Plum Tree GC

2001 Al Pondel, Oak Grove GC and Marengo Ridge GC

2002 Brian Carroll, Oak Grove GC and Whisper Creek GC

2003 R.J. Albright, Whisper Creek GC and Prairie Isle GC

2004 Brian Carroll, Prairie Isle GC and Chalet Hills GC

2005 Tom Sweetwood, Chalet Hills GC and Crystal Woods GC

2006 Greg Bauman, Bull Valley GC and Crystal Woods GC

2007 Aaron Zander, Prairie Isle GC and Foxford Hills GC

2008 Don Langland, Pinecrest GC and Golf Club of Illinois

2009 Griffin Bauman, Pinecrest GC

2010 Griffin Bauman, Marengo Ridge GC and Plum Tree GC

2011 Brad Hyland, Marengo Ridge GC and Turnberry CC

2012 Griffin Bauman, Crystal Woods GC

2013 – Don Langland Jr., Crystal Woods GC

2014 – Tom Sweetwood, Crystal Woods GC

2015 No Tournament

2016 Steve Sawtell, McHenry CC

2017 Greg Bauman, McHenry CC

2018 Joe Cermak, McHenry CC

2019 Kyle Irlbacker, Blackstone GC

2020 Kris Grabner, Blackstone GC

2021 Michael Rodriguez, McHenry CC




Golf and Academy